About the Society of Scribes…

Founded in 1974, and based in New York City, the Society is a non-profit educational organization which promotes the study, teaching and practice of calligraphy and related disciplines.

The Society fosters the appreciation, understanding and acceptance of calligraphy as a fine art. It also encourages fellowship and the exchange of ideas through its speakers, programs, workshops, exhibits and publications.

Funded by membership dues and contributions which are tax deductible, membership runs from January 1st through December 31st.

Join us and/or enroll in our classes or workshops! Beginners are welcome.

2017 Board of Governors

Co-Presidents Chi Nguyen, Susan Steele
Vice President Cynthia Dantzic
Treasurer/Acting Secretary Nancy Redgate Favorito
Corresponding Secretary Eva Kokoris
Recording Secretary Ana Rodriguez
Classes & Workshops Judy Kastin, Barry Morentz
Membership Chavelli Tsui
Publications Adrian Morehouse, Phan Nguyen, Anna Pinto
Scholarships Ethan Cohen, Lynne Yun
Special Projects VA Barrow

Volunteers and Committees

Registrar VA Barrow
SoS Store Marian Rodenhizer
Publicity/Advertising Susan Steele
Post Office Box Patricia Whitman
Letters from New York Holly Cohen
Rosemary Kracke
Directory Calligraphy Emily Brown Shields
Volunteers are most welcome to join any and all committees. As we are an all-volunteer organization, we need and appreciate the support of all our members in various activities and functions.

Patron Members

Diane Carol Brandt
Gail Brill
Dianne J. Condon
Nancy Melzak Corbin
Deborah Delaney
David Gatti
Leigh Harrington
Priscilla T. Holmgren
Eva J. Kokoris
Rory Kotin
Sheila E. Lord
Deborah Nadel
Sheryl Nelson
Judith Ness
Darlene Record
Nancy Redgate
Jane Santos
Anne Sheedy
Emily Brown Shields
Gregory Suarez
Ellen W. Weldon

Supporting Members

Angelamae Abbene
Renée Ahlstrom
Mariela Gerstein
Margaret Harber
Elizabeth C. Jones
Donna Lee
John J. Miley
Patricia F. Mitrano
Denice H. Nitschke
Jane Pierce
Conni Pitti
Toby Ross
Linda Dannhauser Setzer
Elizabeth Shaw
Susan Steele
Stephanie Wargo
Patricia D. Whitman

Founding Members